A Short Note On Sunshine

At night the sun’s rays are blocked.  Yes. The sun not directly felt, but warmth there all the same.  But the darkness of night does invoke a kind of separation from the light.  But the light is still there.  Certain things best done at night, sleep, rest, regeneration.  Waking in the morning can be a bit jarring, readjustment to the light.

But rising early and watching the sky slowly light up refreshes the spirit – a long stretch and yawn – revitalizing one to take on the day.  Or maybe not quite that, but rather a joining with the morning sky, settled, at peace, content, grounded.

2 Responses to A Short Note On Sunshine

  1. Brian says:

    This reminds me of an Emily Dickinson poem, of which I only recently learned. (I heard Craig Hella Johnson sing his version of it.)

    I’m sure others are much more qualified to scholarly interpret this poem for us. But I like the sense of wonder, darkened by something missing. Truly a pilgrim searching.

    And it makes me glad I am not lost–or at least, do not feel lost–and can rejoice in the morning.

    Will there really be a “Morning”?
    Is there such a thing as “Day”?
    Could I see it from the mountains
    If I were as tall as they?

    Has it feet like Water lilies?
    Has it feathers like a Bird?
    Is it brought from famous countries
    Of which I have never heard?

    Oh some Scholar! Oh some Sailor!
    Oh some Wise Men from the skies!
    Please to tell a little Pilgrim
    Where the place called “Morning” lies!

  2. Nancy says:

    Hey Brian – Welcome!

    And thanks for your thoughts and the Dickinson poem. I’ll be coming back to reread it! I’ve been getting up before sunrise and am slowly penning a few thoughts.

    I think an artist like Dickinson can inspire and stir us neophytes while at the same time providing the depth and intrigue that the scholar is best suited to unravel.

    And yes! Nice to embrace the morning while walking on solid ground.

Leave a Reply

